NASA awards millions of dollars to underfunded jurisdictions


NASA has provided $ 28 million to fund the next five years of research infrastructure development in 28 jurisdictions.

The Program established to stimulate competitive research (EPSCoR), a part of NASA Rod Engagement Office and agency based Kennedy Space Center in Florida, supports scientific and technological research and development in colleges and universities while funding studies in earth sciences, aeronautics, and deep space human and robotics exploration, all of which are essential disciplines for NASA’s mission.

Dr. Maria Katzarova (left), associate scientist in the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at the University of Delaware, and Jennifer Mills, fourth-year PhD student in chemical engineering, perform compression tests on Martian regolith cubes sunk. Funded by NASA’s EPSCoR, the project evaluated the capabilities of lunar and Martian regolith simulants when mixed with geopolymer binders. The photo is courtesy of the University of Delaware.

Launched almost 30 years ago, EPSCoR focuses on 25 states and three territories and seeks to reduce funding disparities between states across the country in order to create fair competition in aerospace and aerospace-related research activities. While California receives 12% of all federal research funding, the 28 EPSCoR jurisdictions combined receive less than 10%, so participating states and territories rely heavily on these research investments. NASA funds these areas to keep them competitive in aerospace research and development.

The Development of research infrastructures EPSCoR The award further strengthens long-term research capabilities by pledging $ 200,000 per year to each of the 28 jurisdictions for the next half decade, increasing and diversifying the development of technology and research, higher education and economic development at state and national level.

EPSCoR is also seeking proposals for Quick response search, which provides funding to researchers when they work with NASA on issues impacting the agency’s mission and programs, as well as collaborations with the International Space Station and suborbital flight opportunities, which provide researchers have the opportunity to manage mature LEO research projects.

The jurisdictions receiving the RID awards are: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Delaware, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota , Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Vermont, US Virgin Islands, West Virginia and Wyoming.


Comments are closed.